top of page

Our quest to the perfect flat


Hello you guys!! How is everyone doing? On my side, I can't complain, still haven't won the lottery and became super rich but overall my life isn't bad right now.

I wanted to write a blog post about our "new" flat.

I say "new" because it is not that new after all now but any who.

It is kinda of a weird one to write for me so enjoy the roller coaster !

Around this time of the month last year me and my boyfriend started looking at flats to buy, our plan was to stay at his parents house for one year to save up money but we arranged one viewing for fun one day and it went downhill after that.

After the first flat we saw we fell in love with it, it seemed perfect for us and it was an absolute steal so we put down an offer.

I know a bit crazy, but that who we are baby! I am joking, I was super scared!

We had to get in touch with a mortgage broker and dive into complicated paperwork. That side of the things went rather well, we had almost no problems with our documents and references meaning we could get a mortgage!! However the offer on the first flat got refused!

Boohoo.

After we "lost" the first flat we couldn't stop the search, mortgage was now in movement and we were on a flat hunt roll, nobody could've stopped us!

We so find (after very crappy ones) a very good flat.

One bed, lovely living room and with a garden! We were sold. So we put an offer down, lower than the flat price, but we had to try. It got accepted straight away. Something was up, but we were too excited; than the agency called us saying the garden had Japanese Knot weed.

For who of you who don't know what Japanese Knot weed first of all WHAAAT!? Everybody knows... I am kidding, when the lady on the phone told me I thought it was an Asian kind of smoking weed.

Don't judge me.

Any how Japanese Knot weed is not a drug as I thought but a plant that looks like a bamboo and has very strong a long roots than can go under the pavement and can cause damage to the building .

You can treat it but not kill it and the treatment is kinda expensive; since we couldn't afford the treatment we had to pull out our offer.

Very sad.

Our quest didn't stop there, heartbroken we start looking at different options.

Saw multiple flats when we finally found the perfect one for us.

Fun fact: we arranged couple of viewings with different agency on one day more or less in the same area. Saw a lovely flat on the ground-floor, I absolutely fell in love with it.

Two bedrooms, decent size kitchen, big bathroom and living room and ... a walk in wardrobe! Saaay whaaat?? Walking wardrobe! My Hanna Montana dream finally was becoming true.

Only thing, since on the ground floor all the window were looking into the all parking estate and call me fussy but I really did't like it.

Still having that lovely flat in my mind we than join another appointment, they drove us to another estate, to see a flat on the second floor, and guess what? It was the same exact flat!! Same layout, same floor plan same two bedrooms, decent size kitchen, big bathroom and living room and the walk in wardrobe! This time since on the second floor there was no issue of being overseen from the parking lot and so we decided to put down an offer.

After been declined at first and after me having a melt down the agency called again confirming our offer.

The seller had changed her mind and wanted to sell us the property.

Now my Hanna Montana dream was actually becoming reality.

After all the legal stuff we had to do which I won't bore you with we finally got the keys on September the seventh.



Now a thing I haven't told you is that this flat looked like crap, so before we could actually live there it needed a big old make over, but for that will do another blog post hopefully soon.

Love M xx

bottom of page