top of page

A DREAM COME TRUE

Hello lovely people! How is life? I am doing pretty well, went to see Metallica, and I am still over the moon.

Metallica is a band that is always been present in my life and family since I can remember.


My mum and dad have pretty different taste in music, mum likes pop music and Italian classics, my dad on the other hand likes heavy metal - so how you might guess I grew up a bit confused.

So what I did to please both mum and dad is just mix all what they liked to make my own quite random taste in music.

If you shuffle my Spotify you will find everything, from Metallica to Katy Perry.


While growing up listening to Metallica was mine and my dad's thing. We would put the albums on the stereo on repeat and sing. I think mum was not that impressed of our singing - nor were the neighbour.

We are not going to X Factor any time soon dad, sorry.


At the time I did not know English, so I could not understand what they were saying or know the titles of the songs, all I knew was the melody. When we were in the car I used to sing a song to my dad so he could recognise it and play it and we would have the best sing alongs.

At least in the car nobody could have judged us for our poor singing skills.


I remember one day, my dad took me to the living room and put something on the tv, it played a song.

I heard that song before, I guess, however I was struck.

It was "Nothing Else Matters" played with the San Francisco symphonic orchestra.

My tiny brain exploded, I have never heard till that moment something that beautiful.

From that day that is my favourite song.


Despise the fact that Metallica was very much present in our lives we never went to a concert.

It always surprised me how my dad saw a lot of band in concert while growing up but I could not figure out why he never saw his favourite one.



So I decided to do something about it. When I discovered that they were playing in London in June, I got him my self and all my family the tickets for the concert as a Christmas present.

We were going to realize a dream - all together.


So, when the time arrived we all went.

I can not even explain how excited we all were, however we were doing quite well until they came on stage - and let me tell ya, we lost it. All four of us. Lost it.

We sang all the songs to the top of our lungs, I cried when they played my favourite one, I think my dad shared a tear as well and left without voice and an heart full of memories.



I was quite impressed by how good and funny the band is and how much they care about the fans.

When the concert finished the whole band stayed on stage thanking the fans for about 20 more minutes.

I was speechless, I have never seen an artist doing such a thing!


Six years old Martina is still grateful for the day her dad introduced her to such an amazing band and 24 years old Martina still can't believe she saw them play live with the people she loves the most.



I hope you too one day get to realize one of your dreams just like I did.

Love M.


bottom of page